top of page

Keeping Into Consideration

In my previous post I discussed my thesis committee’s first meeting. However, I never really talked about the people on it, just the journey to that point.

I spent lots of time thinking about my committee, I wanted a group of people who I knew would help me in multiple areas of my thesis. These were probably the most important points to consider during this process:

#1- Background

It’s important that the committee is able to help you in the main subject areas of your project. Mine’s happened to be science and english. Therefore I selected members who were strong in either science or english.

#2- Profession

I believe it’s important that you have a diverse committee in order to get the most feedback. While looking at people with a science or english background in a school building limit options to either teachers or administrators, it’s important look at what each person can offer. For example, I chose a science teacher (who is outside of my committee but is helping me) who I knew wrote a thesis before. While this was a doctoral thesis, I know he can provide me with feedback on my science writing and guide me in the right direction.

#3- Impact

This was pertinent to teachers I had previously. All the teachers I selected on the committee were teachers that I had or currently have. I took into consideration what impact these teachers have had on my learning. Whether it be helping me revise well, build my ideas, follow the scientific method or write scientifically, I know each teacher can bring something unique to the table which can help drastically improve my project.

By keeping these points into consideration, I truly believe that I formed a great thesis committee. I know that by working with this group of people, I can not only better my thesis but myself as a student.


RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

© 2017 by Taniya Thomas. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page