top of page

It Makes Sense

When I was young, I decide to read these articles about personality and take those quizzes titled along the lines of ‘what personality are you?’ for fun. I found it so funny how a website could claim to know who I was. And then I read this Huffington Post article and I was amazed.

In my research about birth order and personality, I came upon an article that discussed the relationship between birth order and personality. It addressed each type of child: first born, middle, youngest and only. As I was reading, I couldn’t help but relate to what I was reading. The author stressed the dominance a firstborn child has. I can’t help by admitting my competitiveness and tendency to manage (or at least try to) my younger brothers. I have mentioned previously my perfectionism which is typically common in older children. Parents focus more of their attention on their first born, which causes high expectations to be put on the child. This pressure leads to the child’s desire for approval; they want to make sure their actions are the best they can be.

Reading about the qualities of a middle and youngest child in a family helped me to better understand my own brothers. I never really understood why my brothers acted the way they did, I mean we were all related so shouldn’t we act the same? However, that’s not really the case according to research. Middle children are the peacemakers of the family. They’re understanding, cooperative and very socials, almost opposite of the eldest child. The youngest child, on the other hand, are very relaxed. They’re much more independant and aren’t really responsible.


RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

© 2017 by Taniya Thomas. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page